Adult Employment Programme – Entry 2

I have been here at RNIB College Loughborough for just over two months now and I’m glad to say that I’m still really enjoying it. One of the best bits of news is that I have started my work placement with a local company in their transport office. As my background comes from the transport industry I was very keen to use my experience in this field to help me progress.

 The placement began with an interview. I have never been to a formal interview before and so I was very nervous, but it was definitely a good experience for me. I asked for feedback at the end and found the comments very useful; it was a real confidence boost.

 It’s early days but I know that one of my main duties will include working with Excel. I have been practising this in College and so it’s great to put it into practice. My placement will last for two days a week up until the end of my course. Then I can update my CV with relevant work experience and my goal now is to work at a transport company in my local area. I feel that this placement is a huge step in the right direction for me.

 The rest of my course is also coming along well. I have carried on with my Braille lessons and have now learnt 10 letters. My tutor and I play cards in Braille. This makes it fun and I always leave that room knowing that I have learnt something.

 I have increased the amount of time spent studying IT. I feel like this is an area that I want to work on. I have just used JAWS to complete one of my CLAiT Modules and I passed with 98%. Considering that I had trouble turning a computer on two months ago, I am over the moon with this result.

 I am now beginning to get more involved within the College itself. I have been elected as Student Representative for the adult trainees. This involves me attend a meeting once a month to communicate and resolve any issues regarding the trainees. I have also started to get involved with the formal visit days that run at the College. I was nervous about coming here when I first started and so it’s good to be able to talk to people who are going through the same thing and to offer some reassurance. Moving away from home can be a daunting prospect but it really is worth it to gain back some independence and to learn things you never thought you would be able to.

Leave a Reply

